In addition to contributing to the National AAUW organization’s scholarships,
our Marquette Affiliate also provides scholarship funds for students at NMU.
The Scholarship Committee reviews applications each year, looking for candidates who have experienced significant barriers to their pursuit of higher education. 


2022-23  AAUW-Marquette
Scholarship Application


2019-20 AAUW-Marquette NMU Scholarship Awarded

The annual AAUW Marquette Branch scholarship for 2019-20 was awarded to NMU Secondary Education English major Amanda Hudson. As the sole recipient, she received $7000 for 2019-20 and received $3500 for her final semester in Fall 2020, graduating in December 2020. Amanda is a non-traditional student, a working mother to two daughters, who decided pursue a degree in Secondary English Education to become a high school teacher. She attends NMU full-time, commuting from Norway over an hour each way last year. Amanda also works part-time as a substitute teacher for Norway/Vulcan Schools, and part-time at the Island Casino in convention set-up. She also volunteers with the Great Lakes Rodeo, acting as the organization’s secretary. Amanda’s goal is to become a high school English teacher, where she hopes to use literature to teach her students about diversity and inclusivity.

She received several compelling letters of recommendation from her professors who find her to be actively engaged in the classroom, and eager to learn all she can about diversity and inclusivity in the classroom. In her application letter, Amanda said the decision to return to school was not an easy one. Amanda wrote. “I want to show my daughters that they can do anything they set their mind to, and I also want to better myself in order to provide for them.”  We are happy to help Amanda achieve that goal with this 2020-21 AAUW Marquette Branch scholarship.


2021 Martha Griffiths Award

For several decades, AAUW-Marquette has recognized amazing high-achieving undergraduate women with the Martha Griffiths Award. The award is in honor of one of Michigan’s most influential women legislators in the last half of the 20th century. Martha Griffiths was known during her 10-term congressional career for her exceptional work with the Civil Rights Act of 1964, getting the Equal Rights Amendment to the House floor for a vote in 1970, and her implacable determination.

The Martha Griffiths Award was given to a high-achieving NMU student who earned an associate or bachelor’s degree in 2021 and was highly involved in her discipline and the community. The Awards Committee received six inspiring nominations for the 2021 Martha Griffiths Award. All nominations included exceptional praise for the nominees’ campus leadership and public civic involvement.

 This year’s Martha Griffiths Award recipient is Hannah Mahn who graduated summa cum laude in May 2021 with a double major in German Studies and Political Science with a Pre-Law concentration and Lower Division Honors. Hannah was co-vice president of Women for Women and a Residence Hall advisor. She supervised student participation in community-wide activities such as the Pride Festival, Women’s Marches, and campus-wide voter registration efforts, and led activities to raise awareness of the gender pay gap and sexual assault. After graduation, Hannah is taking a gap year to study for the GRE exam before applying to law school. During this time, she also intends to create a safe environment for LGBTQIA+ youth in her hometown and complete a yearlong internship with an Alternate Correctional Facility.

Hannah was nominated by Drs. Anna Zimmer and Jon Sherman of NMU Languages, Literatures, and International Studies. NMU Provost Kerri Schuiling thanked AAUW-Marquette for our vigorous support of NMU students. The Martha Griffiths Award comes with $500.00 in cash, publicity in the local newspaper, and a framed certificate with Hannah Mahn’s name as recipient of the 2021 Martha Griffiths Award.



American Association of University Women (AAUW)
Marquette Branch

WHEREAS it is the responsibility of the AAUW-Marquette Affiliate to serve the national AAUW mission to advance gender equity for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy;

WHEREAS our advocacy and support for women has many faces in our community, statewide, nationally, and internationally. We are called to action to make a difference for positive change;

WHEREAS being a friend might be one of the strongest examples of advocacy and support; and

WHEREAS current and prospective members of the AAUW – Marquette Affiliate may at times be in need of such things as dues assistance, professional networking support, and social connections;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the AAUW-Marquette Affiliate adopts a Culture of Support and moves toward providing the supports described in this Resolution.

Adopted by the Executive Board on 28 February 2019


Friendship Fund

 As AAUW members, our advocacy and support for women has many faces in our community, statewide, nationally, and internationally. We are called to action to make a difference for positive change.  There also are times when the intended face for our advocacy and support can be seen in our own membership’s mirror. Circumstances may put a member in a position of unforeseen need. This need may too have many faces.

Our Friendship Fund is now available as a resource to bring confidential financial support for membership dues to help women overcome financial barriers to AAUW membership. Being a friend just might be one of the strongest examples of advocacy and support.

Contact any Board Member for more information. To make a contribution to help support the Friendship Fund, please contact Treasurer Ruth Ziel.



The Educational Foundation (EF) is AAUW’s national scholarship program.  A contribution of $500 is made to the EF in honor of each outstanding member nominated by our Chapter.

Named Grant Honorees

2021 TBD
2020 Taylor Susa and June Davis
2019 Meredith Kulisheck
2018 Mary Snitgen
2017 Marge Forslin
2016 Les Bek
2015 Margie West
2012 Lottie Clark, Miriam Hilton, Millie Kingsbury
2011 Bobbie Clift, Elaine Fassbender, Pat Pellett
2010 Florence Barrington, Kathy Davis, Kay Payant
2009 Mary Buchman, Helen Carlin, Judy Warner
2008 Heather Dombrowski, Melissa Eiben, Bea Hughes
2007 Krista Clumpner, Elizabeth Miller, Mary-Jane Schmidt
2006 Karlyn Rapport, Marilyn Klahn, Marion Sonderegger